The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell


The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell begins in 1986 when fifteen year old Holly runs away from home after a fight with her mom only to return when her little brother, Jacko, goes missing. Each section progresses further into the future and we meet new characters – some are normal human beings, some belong to a group of humans that have learned how to eat souls and live forever and the final group is their arch enemies: a group of humans who are reborn after each death, but do so without harming anyone. The climax of the book is when the two rival groups have their ultimate battle, with the help of an aged Holly.

Having read Cloud Atlas, I was expecting a bit of the fantastical and I also figured it would be a story about intertwining lives, but I was not expecting a full on fantasy novel. Unfortunately, I can only say that this novel was just ok. Some sections I found interesting and they kept my attention. After the first chapter I thought this could be fun, it was going in a Wrinkle in Time sort of direction. And the second chapter I enjoyed too because it mainly focused on a sociopath. But from there the story just petered out, putting in boring characters and plot lines that didn’t really help the story progress, which was very disappointing because it started with such promise!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s